Callum Does the Honours

Callum Hawkins was our star presenter at the Club Main Awards Night on Saturday 2nd December at the Carmichael Hall.

Callum with u20 Athletes of the Year, Erin Wallace & Chris Mackay

Callum lives up totally to his reputation as a great guy. He graciously presented all the awards, cups, trophies, certificates and generously posed for photos all night with the athletes, coaches, fans, and parents. He gave us all an inkling of his route to success in his Q&A session with Dudley Walker which preceded the presentation. Even the friendly rivalry between Kilbarchan and his Giffnock peers was highlighted.  Callum advised that he “wasn’t even that good as a youngster”. That sounds hard to believe but is exactly the inspiration needed for young athletes to find the motivation, commitment and dedication which lies behind his success. What a role model he provides for all the athletes in the club and across the country. Down to earth, approachable and modest despite his tremendous achievements and his status in athletics.

Callum with Jill Smylie & Club Secretary Yvonne McNairn

Good luck wishes will follow him from Giffnock in all his endeavours.
Great dancing was enjoyed by all present with some new moves being learned and, as they say, executed with panache.

Grateful thanks to Dawn Armitt for organising the function, the great band and buffet, Irene Zingone and Claire McInnes for help with the Trophies, Dudley Walker for excellent MC duties as ever, Billy Glasgow our Club Chairman, Andy Munro for IT input, Graham Dunn for the photos on the night and the production of the plethora of National Title Certificates achieved in 2017 , the athletes for their performances all year and to the parents and supporters for their role behind the scenes in encouraging our members to give of their best to the club in reaching the success we have enjoyed in yet another great year for Giffnock.


Below a list of the main award winners:

Senior Club Endurance Championship

Senior Ladies   1st – Jill Smylie
Senior Men   1st – Andrew Bonner,  2nd – Jason Steele, 3rd – Ted Gourley
Vet. Ladies   1st – Sarah Smith
Vet. Men   1st – Scott Wilson
Super Vet. Men   1st – Michael Hampson

Senior Awards

Senior Male Athlete of the Year   David Smith
Senior Female Athlete of the Year   Nikki Manson
u23 Male Athlete of the Year   Neil Gourley
u20 Female Athlete of the Year   Erin Wallace
u2o Male Athlete of the Year   Chris Mackay


Currie Cup   Most contribution to the club   Sheila Lewis
Pat Brennan Shield   Loyalty/sportsmanship to the club   Bernie Campbell
Cooper Cup   1st Female home in the GSR   Allie Chong
Neil Martin Trophy   1st Male home in the GSR   Andrew Bonner
Presidents Shield   Consistent high level of performance   Jill Smylie

Junior Awards

Athletes of the Year   Alyson Bell, Heather Barnes & Murray Fotheringham
u17 Athletes of the Year   Heather Barnes , Adam Clayton & Hamish Armitt
u15 Athletes of the Year   Alyson Bell & Murray Fotheringham
u13 Athletes of the Year   Angelika Mayer & Daniel Martin
u11 Athletes of the Year   Erin McKay & Craig Shennan
Commitment Award   Jennifer Dallas
Best Sprint Perform.   Adam Clayton
Best Distance Perform.   Hamish Armitt


Close Menu